December 8, 2015

 

Dear Students,
I wrote you a poem that doubles as a pep talk to get you through the rest of finals week. Last time I wrote a class a poem, it was based on a song from the movie The Lion King (and it was for a bunch of kindergarteners, so needless to say, it was a real crowd pleaser). For our class, I decided to go with the song “Remember Me This Way.” It’s from the 1995 classic Casper (for those of you who don’t know because you lived in a womb, or under a rock, for most of the 90’s). Anyway, I personalized the lyrics and even tried to step up my rhyme game for you nerds (you’re welcome).
Thank you again for being the highlight of my semester.
Sincerely,
Ms. Marcous
 
Dedicated to my students in PHM2121-01 (Fall 2015):
Every now and then
You find a special class
(With record-high levels of sass)
That never lets you down
Who understand systems of oppression
And how income inequality relates to economic recession
You’re the best class that I’ve found
 
And I don’t need eyes to see
My favorite days were when you were in front of me
No matter where life goes
 
I know our class can’t stay (in HWC 3100)
But a part of you will never, ever go away
Your student activity reports will stay
 
I’ll make a wish for you
And hope it will come true
 
That finals week will just be kind
To such brilliant, beautiful minds
 
But if you lose your cool
Just remember, there is more to life than school
 
Like pugs, and Dolly Parton (pipes of an angel), and football
Not to mention, you are always welcome to visit me in 106 Dodd Hall
 
Remember me this way
 
P.S. It’s still not too late for us to move up to D.C.
(And make midterms together that are way too easy)
Leave a Reply

