2011.06.26

“People could rationally decide that prolonged relationships take up too much time and effort and that they’d much rather do other kinds of things. But most people are afraid of rejection.”

-Albert Ellis

______

Albert, you ole’ S.O.B!

Just calling people out like they don’t have enough ego-concerns and insecurities to indulge themselves needlessly in (and resign themselves indefinitely to).

Thanks, by the way.

2 Responses to “”

  1. Mariana said

    If I may, (lol), I think Ellis may be a little close-minded in his view. “They’d much rather do other kinds of things?”
    Where is the consideration for how one actually values their time? Sure, if someone was about 100% productivity and 0% distraction, then a relationship MAY not be for them, but I think it has much less to do with fear of rejection, as Ellis so presumptuously claims. And if everyone “wasn’t afraid of rejection” and got out of their relationships as a result, then it’d be a much colder world, no? Also, is there an implication here that people in relationships don’t accomplish as much?

    He positions his argument in a biased way: Is deciding that prolonged relationships take too much time- rational? It appears that according to him, yes. But maybe he doesn’t mean it in the absolute…

    I know nothing about the guy, but I’d be interested to learn what -his- love traveling has been like and if he doesn’t have a bitterstick (not butterstick) up his butt and then decided to live it up for himself only because as they say, “living well is the best revenge.”

    The end.

    • C.M.Marcous said

      Mariana, you are awesome! I love (and naturally empathize) with your perspective on this! Who the hell does this cat think he is?!? He doesn’t know us or our partners or the social contexts and conditions within which our relationships are being created! Am I right or am I right? But, and only to be fair, I don’t really know him or his relationship experiences or the context within which he produced these words of his, or who initially quoted (and/or misquoted him), or in what social context and condition he made these alleged words, or to what extent I have (albeit unintentionally) taken those words out of that original context and projected my own interpretation of his intent, and then went about interacting with that projection of interpretation. Uh oh, it seems it may be I, that was being close-mind in my view (or limited by perspective in my presentation of information), so just in case, let me offer an apology to that end, and also offers my appreciation for the opportunity to reflect and grow from not only Ellis’ comments, but my interpretation of them, then my comments in response to my interpretation, and now your wonderful comments as well (thank you, by the way, for taking the time to share ideas with me in this way)! =-) MISS YOU!

Leave a Reply

