Water Fast: Day One

2011.06.20

Quiet and not particularly challenging this time around. Customarily, the first two to three days are regarded as the most challenging, since your system will still be experiencing spikes in insulin, hunger pangs, and the like (allegedly, the worse your eating habits, the harder this initial transition period may be on your psyche). I attribute the lack of difficulty in my case to the fact that I only have to transition from a (largely) whole foods (unprocessed), vegan diet to the water fast (as opposed to any more traditional American diet with processed sugars–i.e. high fructose corn syrup, processed-refined-empty carbohydrates, trans fats, and the like). So something good, I suppose. I did a couple of miles worth of walking in mid-afternoon heat over at Lake Ella, just to get some exercise in and maybe (even if just symbolically) sweat off some of the toxins I’m pretty sure I incurred through consumption during family vacation time (alcohol mostly, but also an excess of unhealthy snack foods). Who knows. Felt good though. I also love soaking up the full sun, which I recall from the last fast will be something I can’t do as often, as it felt pretty physically taxing (and too rapidly dehydrating) for a body operating entirely on water. I’ll probably conclude this first day with about thirty minutes of prayer, focusing on (1) assistance with successful transition (and adaptation) through (and to) change in environment (goal I pray will be facilitated not just on a personal level in my own life, but for others as well on the individual, mezzo, and macro levels of societies). This does seem like a time of tension and potential revolution in different spheres of society and self, so this focus seems practical and appropriate. The other focus is (2) to greet any and all challenges that may present themselves with thoughtfulness, equanimity, peace, patience, positivity, a spirit of generosity, and perseverance (again, goal I pray will be facilitated not just on a personal level in my own life, but extended for others as well at all levels of our social world). The third focus of prayer is (3) that I can be consistently kind–that is,  thoughtful and aware of the intent and ramifications of my thoughts, words, and actions throughout and beyond my fasting.

Leave a Reply

