Shits and Giggles

December 10, 2010

I was really thinking about this expression–i.e. ‘I’m just doing this for shits and giggles’. It’s odd, right?–but I know I’m not the only one who says this…I think. Am I the only one who says this? The giggles part is cute–sorta, depending on context. What situation would provoke both phenomena simultaneously? Off the top of my head, I really can’t say. This is probably an(other) idiom I have managed to learn wrong (see below). That said, I don’t plan on living through the past (if you know what I mean-wink, wink–nudge, nudge–wink, nudge, etc.) sooooo I’m not saying this one anymore until I do a fact-check!

here’s the marebear idiom list to date (non-exhaustive):

‘keep your eyes pierced.’ (keep your eyes peeled)

‘that’s a steal even at 1/2 the price!!!’

‘another caseless point’ (case in point)

‘if it’s good enough for the goose, count me in’ (good for the goose, good for the gander)

‘breaking your asshole, break your ass’ (busting ass)

‘don’t beat off behind the bush’ (don’t beat around the bush)

‘throw a bone at a dog, why don’t you? (throw a dog a bone)

‘it’s high time!’  (right phrase, wrong context)

‘just got to get my foot through the door’ (get one’s foot in the door….this one surprised me too)

2 Responses to “Shits and Giggles”

  1. carebear said

    el weeeeirdo! I was thinking about that phrase in my car outside my tutee’s house, and trying to think of a more kid-friendly version of it. kicks and giggles. I think that’s the normal usage too.

  2. carebear said

    also super-lolz @ “if it’s good enough for the goose, count me in”

Leave a Reply

