An Ode to Fog

2009.12.12

Fog is the most aesthetically pleasing phenomena I can think of. It blankets scenes and makes the environment temporarily look like a sort of dream world–nothing concrete, just vague outlines of ideas amidst a sea of haze.

I realized my love for fog a few weeks back. I was on my way to work and something had caused a road block, and traffic was at a stand still for quite some time. Peeps were getting antsy, calling into their jobs or calling their partners to complain about the delay…occasional horns, dirty looks, every car in their own little world of misery and agitation…peeps were just pissed, period. Meanwhile, in the corolla, Mare-bear had come across a Dolly Parton song and was jamming out (as is my custom), fingers flailing in the air like Mare-bear just don’t care. I then shifted my focus to the Amelia River- a marshy waterscape blanketed in fog, looking like something out of a landscapes calendar. I watched some birds flying in search of food in the midst of the fog–just off the pavement, away from the cars,signs, and store fronts-an entirely different world. Dolly Parton’s charob-like voice faded into the background and Return to Innocence came on (no joke). Traffic was moving again…I got honked at for not realizing this. I transitioned back into rat race mode. That was so beautiful, I thought to myself. I feel so light. It must be the fog, it reminds me that none of this is really that real, and I can breathe a sigh of relief. I like fog..

One Response to “An Ode to Fog”

  1. carebear said

    I have a tiny journal entry about fog in my livejournal. one of my first entries. we dig the same shit, marebear. we dig the same damn shit.

Leave a Reply

